The triangular Castle of Bourscheid with its 11 towers and a 12 thousand-square-meter area is considered the largest fortified castle on Luxembourg territory.
It was founded about AD1000 as a replacement of a former wooden fort. Due to his visit to the castle ruins in 1865, today guiding host in Bourscheid is Victor Hugo himself.
During archaeological excavations were revealed traces from Roman, Merovingian, Carolingian, and Ottonian times and that shows how strategically important the castle was, rising on a 150-meter-high cliff over the Sauer River and accessible only from one side. That bespeaks also the 8 multiple enlargements of the castle’s size through reconstructions and extensions over the centuries.
Its first owner, Bertram of Bourscheid, ruled the castle in his capacity as a vogt on behalf of the Abbey of Echternach, the oldest one in the Grand Duchy. Another family representative, Sogier of Bourscheid, participated in 1270 in the Seventh Crusade under the leadership of Louis IX of France.
After in 1512 the last member of the Bourscheid Family died, the castle fell into decline until 1936, when the Luxembourg government put it under protection as a historical monument and in 1972 it purchased it.
View of a small part of the castle.
View of a part that was built in the 15th century.
The pillory – used for punishment by petty crimes.
The outer wall was built between 1350 and 1384.
View of Sauer River.