Bad Münstereifel

Bad Münstereifel, Town Hall

The lands of Monasterium in Eiflia, as they were known in the 11th century, or Münstereifel, belonged in the 8th century to the powerful Abbey of Prüm. In 830, its third abbot built a daughter monastery and a church here – ‘Novum Monasterium in pago Eifle situm’.

The church obtained in 844 the relics of the couple Martyrs and Saints Chrysanthus and Daria from Pope Sergius II.

St.Chrysanthus u Daria Bad Muenstereifel

The present church was built in the 11th-12th century, but in its crypt are preserved remains of the old church from AD 830.

St.Chrysanthus u Daria Bad Muenstereifel (2)

The figure of the Virgin, standing on the chandelier and made of walnut, dates from 1320.

In 898, the Lotharingian King of Carolingian origin Zwentibold granted the monastery and the settlement built around it the market rights, the right to levy tolls, and the right of coinage.

Zwentiboldbrunnen Bad Muenstereifel

The fountain with his figure is from 1982.

Zwentiboldbrunnen Bad Muenstereifel (2)

From the 13th-14th century to the French Revolution, Münstereifel was in the possession of the Duchy of Jülich. The Count of Jülich, Gerhard V, erected the castle in 1300. Today it houses a restaurant.

Burg Muenstereifel

Portal to the castle.

In 1625, the Jesuit Order founded the St. Michael’s Gymnasium, whose monastery-school building was completed in 1726. The gymnasium is to this day in possession of one of the most valuable libraries in the area with books from the 15th century.

St.Michael Gymnasium Bad Muenstereifel

The school building is the yellow one to the left.

The Jesuit Church of St. Donatus connected to the school building was built in 1652-74. In 1646, the relics of the Saint were donated by Pope Innocent X and in 1625, they were delivered to the church.

Rathaus Bad Muenstereifel

The Red Town Hall, one of the few preserved Gothic mayoral buildings in the surroundings, dating from the 15th century.

Bad Muenstereifel

In 1926, Bad Münstereifel, by then only Münstereifel, became a spa town and in 1967, it added to its name the word „Bad“ that implies a spa town.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

13 − four =