A castle and a church – these are the two main buildings that usually shape the appearance of one Belgian village (bear in mind that Belgium is one of the countries or the country with the highest density of castles per square kilometer.) Even when their history was getting long lost over the centuries. As it is the case with Wallerode.
According to the researches, the etymology of the settlement’s name suggests an origin from the time between the 10th and the 14th century and it was first documentally mentioned in 1157.
The castle of Wallerode was first mentioned in 1315, and over the centuries, it underwent numerous reconstructions.
The main building dating from the middle of the 18th century and redesigned around the middle of the 19th century.
The perron/the staircase is from the 19th century.
The well tower and the round tower of the revetment wall date from the 17th century.
The west wing of the castle.
The first chapel of Wallerode was presumably built in the first third part of the 17th century.
The tower of the present church is preserved from that time. The present Church of St. Wendelin dates from 1754.
The high altar from 1900 in the Neo-Romanesque style.
The coat of arms on the arch indicates the church donator and owner of the castle at that time – the Family of Baring – of Dhaem.
One wonderful side altar with the Fourteen Holy Helpers crafted in 1788.
Statue of St. Wendelin of Trier (554-617) – the patron saint of the church and his relics next to it.
Two kilometers away from the village, in the forest stand the remains of the Hermitage of Kohlkaul. Here stood once a chapel and a house that were built in 1751.
The first eremite, Priest Jakobonus obtained for the chapel a particle of the Holy Cross and other relics, and the place became immediately an important pilgrimage destination. Regrettably, it landed in this miserable state over the centuries and only little parts of the former buildings have been preserved:
Copies of two of the stations of the Way of the Cross and the former keystone of the entrance to the chapel. The originals are in the yard of the Church of Meyerode, where also the altar with the cross relic is kept.
The origin of the village of Meyerode is also hidden between the 10th and the 14th centuries. It was first mentioned in 1319.
It is assumed that the history of the Church of St. Martin began in 1401 and that its tower dates from that time.
It receives its visitors from afar with its first mystery, today built in the church curtain wall:
Again, there are two hypotheses about the origin and the nature of this stone slab found in the church as part of its foundations at the time of its reconstruction in the middle of the 20th century. The first one says that it dates from the time of the first local Christianization between AD 290 and AD 350 and the second one says – it’s about an Anglo-Saxon tombstone from around AD 800.
The church is dedicated to Saint Martin and Saint Albinus.
There are two tombstones under the gallery of the church:
The first one is the tombstone of Peter Benignus von Baring – the co-founder and donator of the Hermitage of Kohlkaul and owner of the Castle of Wallerode at that time.
The altar of the former Hermitage with the particle of the Holy Cross.
Another unrevealed mystery of the church are the columns in the choir provided with numerous rune-like mason marks that aren’t interpreted to this very day. They have been put under protection and thus, the whole church has the statute of protected monument.
The painting on the ceiling is a reproduction of a painting by an Italian workshop from the 16th century.
If you find the content of this publication interesting and useful, you could also visit and like my Facebook page Soul’s Detour. Thank you!