On the track of the former pagan places of worship
Another village church, another site with interesting history. Neundorf was first mentioned in AD 888 as Nova Villa – a Frankish Königshof (royal palace). The church was first mentioned in 1130 and its tower is still preserved from that time.
But it is assumed that there was a temple in this place many years earlier. Many things related to the church suggest that it was even erected in a former pagan place of worship – the water spring in the vicinity, called once ‘holy spring’, the location on a hill outside the village central part, the ancient lime-trees in its yard, and so on.
It is also assumed that the place was once a sacred grove, just as the Chapel of St. Bartholomew in Wiesenbach. (Information source: the historical magazine ‘Zwischen Venn u. Schneifel’, issue 9, 2013, ‘Kräuterweihe zu Maria Himmelfahrt’, Maria Schumacher-Fank)
It became afterwards, as a Christian temple, an important pilgrimage destination in honor of the Virgin Mary. There are also a couple of legends about the construction of the temple that are linked to her. The church itself dates from the 15th century when it was reconstructed in the Gothic style.
The atrium with the stone bench and the Virgin Mary dates from 1763.
The Baroque high altar is from 1686.
18th-century Baroque miraculous image of the Virgin Mary.
Pulpit of slate from the 18th century and illustration of St. Barbara with inscription in old German language from around 1700.
Plague cross from the 17th century.