The Parish Church of St. Laurentius is one of the only three buildings that the settlement of Mackenbach consists of. It is a 15th-century temple with a long pilgrimage history related to the medieval hermit St. Lukerus who built a Klause (hermitage – see here) near the former church and his relics were buried in the temple.
The tower of the church, built in 1713.
The inside of the church with the Gothic choir from 1500.
The church is in the so-called Eifel Gothic style.
The statue of St. Lukerus from the 18th century in the middle of the photograph.
The unusual T-shaped, or St. Anthony’s crucifix to the left is undoubtedly the most important and mysterious piece in the temple.
And here we can’t escape the two usual theories about its origin, which is actually still unknown.
The one theory is related to St. Lukerus – the only local saint, who probably lived in the 13th century, as a follower of St. Anthony.
The other, commonly adopted theory is that the crucifix came from a settlement that vanished due to the plague. It had to be the only remaining piece of it. And after this theory, it could date from the 14th or the beginning of the 15th century.
St. Laurentius, patron saint of the church since the 17th century, statue from the end of the 19th century.
The baptismal font from the second half of the 18th century.
Votive cross from 1870 outside of the church.
Other old crosses around the church.