Beaufort Castle was a water castle with two curtain walls, the history of which can be traced through many centuries. Its oldest parts stand on the foundations of a Roman Castel (Castellum Belfurti).
The construction of the castle began around 1150, and after the first documented owner, Walter of Wiltz and Beaufort followed a series of consecutive owners who are listed in detail in the tourist brochure of the site.
The main entrance to the inner castle, provided with a bretèche (brattice), dates from 1380.
Winding stairs of sandstone in the Renaissance wing of the castle, dating from around 1500.
A gate, seen from the oldest part of the castle.
One little inhabitant of the castle ruins.